God’s Plan > My Plan

My church service last weekend was about our plan versus God’s plan for us. My devotionals have also centered quite a bit on this theme lately. It has made me realize that it’s something I’ve been struggling with frequently for many different reasons.

I’m a stubborn person who loves being in control. When things go wrong or occur differently than what I had in mind, it really rocks my world. I have trouble accepting God’s path for me sometimes. But at the end of the day, I know He has something far better in mind than I could ever imagine or comprehend.

For example, I started applying for summer jobs in late March. I thought I was golden—yet here I am in May still searching for work that I desperately need. I was supposed to have a job interview on Monday and it got pushed to Friday. Patience, seek Me. That’s what I hear God saying. My roommate is transferring to a different school and I’m going to miss her a lot. She was one of my only close friends at school. Trust me, I will provide. Lonely and anxious thoughts creep in at inopportune times. Hold on to me. Daily struggles.

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.” ~Isaiah 26:3

In one of my journal entries I stated, “Not a day will go by when things will go how I want them.” God loves to do all he can to remind me I’m not in control; no matter how hard I try to put to-do lists together. Numerous times He has closed doors when I’m not ready for them to close. But I know that with great faith and patience far greater doors will be opened.

God’s plan is not always easy—sometimes it’s a big pill to swallow. It’s not going to be a walk in the park, it won’t be comfortable. I don’t know what this summer is going to look like exactly. Considering what I know of my Heavenly Father, it could turn out completely different than anything I think at this point. All I know is God is constantly at work in my life and I can rest easy in that truth.

~Annah

Author: Living for Him

But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, That I may tell of all your works. ~Psalm 73:28

1 thought on “God’s Plan > My Plan”

  1. Ah! Waiting for Him to unfold His plans? That’s where I am too. It couldn’t be easy getting to the “resting easy” stage but glad you are. Hope the job scenario changes for the best soon. God bless! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

