Genesis 1:31

I’m surrounded by broken women. The world is filled to the brim with broken women. Not a single woman is safe from the daily disease of appearance. Women who don’t think they’re good enough exactly as they are made. Women who are constantly trying to change themselves or are envious of other girls because of x, y, and z.
But here’s the thing: you don’t need x, y, or z. In fact, you’re better off without those things, whatever just popped into your mind. Let me share a little about my struggle and how I personally discovered this.

As a petite woman, I often feel alone and singled out. I know there are plenty of others out there like me, but I’m hardly surrounded by any. Because of this, I feel out of place. Strangers make jokes about how young I look and I never feel like I have anyone to talk to, because it seems like no one understands the struggle of being so tiny. In fact, I’ve even had someone ask me if I was anorexic. I’ve noticed our society is not the most conscientious of petite women through clothing and social interactions.

This is not okay. While I understand why people say or act the way they do around me, here’s a couple things I want everyone to know about me as a petite woman:

-I beat myself up more than anyone else and that’s why it makes harmless or playful comments stand out. Oftentimes they’re thoughts that reflect my own thoughts towards myself and that’s really why they hurt me. However, I am working on building up my self-confidence.

-I should not have to justify my size in any type of environment (especially professionally) to be taken seriously.

Many times I’ve found myself thinking I should put more makeup on or wear taller shoes or dress a certain way. While none of those things are bad, the issue is I would find myself thinking these things because I felt like it was necessary to look older or be more mature. But what the heck does that even mean for a full-grown woman? Frankly, we probably just mean we want to look like that other woman. Even if you’re not petite like me, women are constantly trying to change themselves to fit a certain mold of what they consider ‘ideal’ or ‘successful.’ If we just do x, y, and z we feel we can be content with our body. Until then, we despise ourselves.

So this summer I decided I need a change in attitude. I want to fully respect my body for what it is, not what my flesh wants to be. I’m going to try to eat healthier, exercise more, and have proper self-care in every aspect of my physical being.

Okay, easier said than done. Anyone can say they want to truly love themselves starting now, but most people don’t come through. Why am I so set on this?

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” ~1 Corinthians 6:19-20

I have one body. I will never have another one. This body is made to contain the Holy Spirit. This body is bigger than myself and my comparison or envy or discontentment. If I am to truly glorify God in my body, I need to love it wholeheartedly, with no strings attached. I know I’ll fail and I can’t perfect everything, but I want my body to have the love it deserves for its one lifetime.

Ladies, God made us just how he wants us and none of it is a mistake. I know it’s hard to believe and I know we will have our doubts, but remember: even our body is not about us. If we are to truly exemplify God’s love and our faith to others, we need to look at our authentic, non-accessorized selves and say “it is good.” We need to truly believe that.

~Annah

Author: Living for Him

But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, That I may tell of all your works. ~Psalm 73:28

Leave a Reply

